System: Workspaces

View/Edit Products

The following screen is displayed when you choose the "View/Edit Products" link from the administration menu:

This screen displays the list of products in the system (both inactive and active) together with their program, template, date of creation, and active status. Clicking on either the "View" link in the right-hand column or the name of the product will change the currently selected product to one clicked.

By default the table shows you only the active products, but you can select a different option from the dropdown above the table. You can filter the list of products by either choosing an active status, program, or entering a portion of the name or date into the appropriate text box. When you click the "Filter" button, the list of products will be filtered by the criteria you entered. You can clear the filter selection by clicking the "Clear Filters" button. To sort the list of products, just click on the appropriate arrow icon located in the header row of each field (one each for ascending / descending) In addition, the list of products is paginated into groups of fifteen (15). You can step through the different pages by clicking the page numbers at the bottom of the product list.

To permanently delete a product, click the "Delete" button to the right of the product details. Doing so will show a popup where the admin will be required to correctly type the name of the selected product. Product deletion is irreversible and will delete all the artifacts associated with the product. If you want to temporarily delete a product, set its Active flag to 'No' instead. To make a copy of a product to reuse its test cases, releases, test sets and requirements, click the "Copy" link to the right of the product. Note that this will not make a copy of any historical information, test runs or incidents.

To add a new product to the system, click the "Add" button at the bottom of the product list, and a new screen will be displayed that allows you to enter the new product information:

You need to:

Once you are satisfied with the information, click the "Insert" button to actually create the new product.

In a similar way, to edit the details of an existing product, click the "Edit" button in the right hand column of the product list box, and you will be taken to the following screen that allows you modify the product details:

On this screen you can edit the name, description, program, website URL and active status. Once you have made the necessary changes, click the "Save" button to commit them. If you decide that you want to ignore the changes, click the "Cancel" button and the changes will be discarded.

Next to the current template for the product, is a "Change" button. Clicking this will let you change the product to use a different template.

View/Edit Programs

The following screen is displayed when you choose the "View/Edit Programs" link from the Administration menu:

This screen displays the list of programs in the system (both inactive and active) together with their template, web site URL, date of creation and active status. Programs are used to relate products that are in the same department/division/organization or are for a common customer, client, etc. When products are in the same program, a user that is a member of the program can see the special Program Dashboard that displays key metrics from all the products in the program combined. Also, such users will have observer-level access to the contained products without needing to be explicitly added to each product.

You can filter the list of programs by either choosing an active status, or entering a portion of the name, web-site or date into the appropriate text box. When you click the "Filter" button, the list of programs will be filtered by the criteria you entered. You can clear the filter selection by clicking the "Clear Filters" button. To sort the list of programs, just click on the appropriate arrow icon located in the header row of each field (one each for ascending / descending) In addition, the list of programs is paginated into groups of fifteen (15). You can step through the different pages by clicking the page numbers at the bottom of the product list.

To permanently delete a program, you should click the "Delete" button to the right of the program details. Any products contained in the program will not be deleted, but instead just moved to the default program. There has to be at least one program in the system at all times, so the program designated as the 'default' one will not be available for deletion.

To add a new program to the system, click the "Add" button at the bottom of the program list, and a new screen will be displayed that allows you to enter the new program information:

You need to enter:

Once you are satisfied with the information, click the "Insert" button to actually create the new program.

In a similar way, to edit the details of an existing program, click the "Edit" button in the right-hand column of the program list box, and you will be taken to the following screen that allows you modify the program details. Please note that this is the only administrative page in the program administration section.

On the top part of this screen you can edit the name, description, website URL, active status and default status. Once you have made the necessary changes, click the "Save" button to commit them. If you decide that you want to ignore the changes, click the "Cancel" button and the changes will be discarded.

In addition, the lower part of the screen allows you to view/edit the users that are members of the program and also see which products are in the program:

a) Program User Membership

This tab allows you to see which users are members of the program and which program role they have:

The two program roles are "Executive" and "Program Owner":

Executive -- This role allows the user to see the dashboard for this program, which contains all the key metrics for the contained products displayed in an aggregated manner. Please see the SpiraPlan User Manual for more details on this dashboard. In addition, the user is automatically granted 'observer' permissions for all the products in the program.

Program Owner -- This role consists of all the permissions granted to the "Executive" role above, but in additional allows the user to make changes to the Program itself in the Administration section.

To change the role of an existing program member, just change the role in the drop-down list and click [Save]. To remove a member from the program, just select the appropriate checkboxes and click [Delete]. Finally, to add a new user to the program, click on the [Add] button:

You now should narrow down the list of users by entering filter criteria and clicking [Filter]. Once you have located the appropriate user(s), just select a program role for them from the drop-down list and click [Add] to add them to the program in the specified role.

b) Program Product List

This tab allows you to see the list of products that are contained within the current program. Clicking on the name of the product will take you to the details page for that product:

View/Edit Templates

The following screen is displayed when you choose the "View/Edit Templates" link from the administration menu:

This screen displays the list of templates in the system (both inactive and active) with their active status.

You can filter the list of products by either choosing an active status, ID, or entering a portion of the name into the appropriate text box. When you click the "Filter" button, the list of templates will be filtered by the criteria you entered. You can clear the filter selection by clicking the "Clear Filter" button. To sort the list of templates, click on the appropriate arrow icon located in the header row of each field (one each for ascending / descending).

To permanently delete a template, click the "Delete" button to the right of the template details. This is irreversible. If you want to temporarily delete a product, set its Active flag to 'No' instead. Neither of these actions will be possible if any product (active or inactive) is controlled by the template.

To add a new template to the system, you need to create a new template when creating a new product (as described in View/Edit Products). To edit the details of an existing template, click the "Edit" button in the right hand column of the template list box, and you will be taken to the following screen that allows you modify the template details:

On this screen you can edit the name, description, program, and active status. Once you have made the necessary changes, click the "Save" button to commit them. If you decide that you want to ignore the changes, click the "Cancel" button and the changes will be discarded.