Skip to content

Test Management and Execution

How to delete a pending test run

When you run a test case or a test set it creates a "Pending Test Run". This is a test run that is in progress. You can see pending test runs in 2 places. From there you can also, if allowed, delete the pending test run. This will permanently delete the pending test run from everywhere for all users.

  • The "My Pending Test Runs" widget on My Page. You can always delete your own pending test runs
  • The "All Pending Test Runs" on the Product home page. All product members can see this widget. Only users who are product admins can delete pending test runs in this list

How to delete test runs

Pending test runs are works in progress and can be deleted (see above). Once a test has been finalized it becomes a Test Run. This is designed to be an immutable record of what happened during testing. Therefore we strongly discourage every deleting a test run. Instead we recommend running the test case or test set again. That is why, by default, no roles have permission to delete test runs.

If you really need to delete a test run then these are the steps to take:

  1. Go to System Administration > Users > View / Edit Product Roles
  2. Create a new role with the special permission to delete Test Runs
  3. Give the relevant user(s) this role for the product concerned
  4. The user then navigates to the test run pages and they will see a Delete button that lets them to delete test runs.
  5. NOTE: to update test execution statuses and traceability in the system following these deletes, you need to go to Product Admin > General Settings > Data Tools and click Refersh Test Status Cache

NOTE: because we do not consider the above a usual workflow in SpiraPlan currently we do not maintain a history of test run deletions and modifications.

How to change a test result after the test has been run

What do you do if a tester marked a step as passed or failed by accident? How can this be corrected? BEFORE the test is finished the tester can edit the results on the test execution screen.

Once the test run has been formally completed, the only way to update an execution status or an actual result is to rerun the test case or test set. For a test case: find the test case and hit Execute. For a test set you have a few options:

  • rerun the whole test set
  • one of the options set out below

How to update part of a test set result

Let's say that you ran a test set with ten test cases in it. One of the test cases failed and now is ready for retest. Do you need to rerun the whole test set of ten test cases? Or is there a quicker way?

To update part of a test set result you can optionally selectively execute just part of it. There are two ways to do this:

  1. From the test set details page for the specific test set:
    • go to the test set details page
    • scroll down to the list of test cases
    • check the boxes to the specific test cases in the test set you want to rerun
    • Hit the Execute button just above the list of test cases (or from the context menu on the test case table). This will only execute those test cases.
    • Once test execution is complete for those test cases, the results are automatically reporting back to the test set
  2. Run the individual test case(s) from the test case pages:
    • go to one of the test case list page, test case details page, test run details page, or My Assigned Test Cases widget on the My Page
    • execute the desired test case(s)
    • finish the execution
    • go to the relevant test run details page and update the test set field
    • repeat the above step for each test case concerned

How to stop users being able to edit a test case's test steps

Test cases contain test steps. These steps can be edited in a number of ways: each step has properties that you can edit; you can add and remove steps; and you can change the order of the steps.

You may want to control who can edit test steps, and when they can edit them.

Control who can edit test steps: set your product roles so that only users with certain roles can modify test steps.

  • If a product role let's users with that role "Modify All" test steps then they can edit all test steps.
  • If instead a product role is set with "Modify Owned" for test steps, then users with that role can only edit test steps inside of test cases where they are marked as the Owner. In other words, if you have "Modify Owned" you have to be a test case owner to edit its steps.

Control when anyone can edit test steps: using the test case workflow, you can control what fields of the test case are editable, disabled, hidden, or required. For each workflow step, make sure to review the "Test Steps?" row.

  • If "Test Steps?" is set to enabled for a status/step, anyone with a role that lets them edit test steps can edit test cases with that status
  • If "Test Steps?" is set to disabled for a status/step, noone will be able to edit test steps at all for test cases with that status

Together, controlling who, and when, give you a lot of flexibility in managing your test steps (and other artifacts too).