Skip to content


How to fix the requirement hierarchy

Sometimes the requirement list will not look as you expect (on the main list view or in the sidebar when looking at a single requirement). Some nodes may be hidden that should be visible, or vice versa. This can happen due to the combination of expanding/collapsing different nodes / parent requirements, and filtering requirements by different fields. You can get this back to normal by doing the following:

  1. Go to the requirements list view
  2. Make sure you are looking at the hierarchy/tree view
  3. At the top is a dropdown that says: "--- show level ---"
  4. Select "All Levels" from the dropdown and wait for the page to reload (this resets any collapsing of requirements you may have done)
  5. If applicable, clear any existing filter (hit the Clear Filter button above the table of requirements)

Why does my requirement status change by itself

Sometimes you may change the status of a requirement, then when you look at it again the status was the old status, not the new one you tried to change it to. What causes this?

  1. As a product admin go to Product Admin > Planning > Planning Options
  2. Look at the Requirements section
  3. There are two options that can keep a requirement status stuck: "Use Task Status" and "Use Test Status".
  4. If "Use Task Status" is enabled, a requirement will move to "developed" when all its tasks are complete (and cannot be moved to developed before that)
  5. If "Use Test Status" is enabled, a developed requirement will move to "tested" when all its test cases have passed (and cannot be moved to tested before that)